My latest project

rockhopper

I have mentioned my latest project in a few posts. Now I'm ready to reveal all (that goes before or behind me.....)

I have installed 2 vehicle drive recorders, one at the front and one at the rear.

The background to this is that I work in the insurance industry and I'm coming across all sorts of incidents where people dispute liability, which got me thinking....I saw something a while back about the Roadhawk, which is a vehicle drive recorder.

A vehicle drive recorder records video of an incident, for approx a minute before the incident and for a certain time after the incident, so you can prove to your insurance company that you were not at fault - (if that is the case......)

I looked at the Roadhawk and others, but they were all very large and obtrusive.

The I found this BlackVue

This is quite small and discrete. It allows me to record constantly all the time and will then overwrite the oldest files first. It only shoots at max, VGA at 30fps, but it is good enough quality. It even has a parking mode which senses impacts and records those as well, but does require a constant unswitched live.

I used these to great effect at the weekend on the offroad drive.

Here are some pictures of it installed front and back:

post-36710-0-70975300-1301408964_thumb.jpg

post-36710-0-43709000-1301408973_thumb.jpg

post-36710-0-82746900-1301408974_thumb.jpg

post-36710-0-30472100-1301408976_thumb.jpg

post-36710-0-87477300-1301408978_thumb.jpg

post-36710-0-78222400-1301408979_thumb.jpg

MIke

Good pics and good advice rockhopper. :yes:

Lets see someone try to wriggle out of THAT one. :giggle:

Does it time & date stamp the recordings??

Yes. And best of all it has a/v out so you can hook up to a display and have for example a rear view/reversing camera. Just need to work out how to join the a/v out to my Columbus ......