Warning: Fabia Door Leaks

Hi all! First post :) Sad it's in this thread :(

I've got an 04 Fabia and today noticed the rear passenger footwell was damp - however the door card was bone dry and it was actually the bit near the inside (near that hump on the rear floor) that was wet.

I can't help thinking that if this was a leaky door the errr.. bit near the door would be wet (as opposed to the middle bit). Which part of the footwell are people finding wet?

Thanks - seems like a great community by the way :)

I'm a newbie (joined today) and I have to say, I'm finding all this very worrying, earlier I Jokingly posted about my windows and screens having significant condensation, now I am wondering if leaking might be the issue. I have only had my Fabia 7 months and it's a late 2006 reg, new body shape...and I really don't want to fall out of love with my car over something like this. Are the new shape Fabias prone to this problem as well??? So fingers crossed, while I check all the carpets tomorrow! :-S Also hoping that if there is an issue my car is covered as all the posts about taking bits off and sealing sound a bit daunting to me!

Caz

If you can, take out one of the rear seat cushions and try to wiggle you arm down between the carpet and the seat platform ( you may need arms like Morph). Once you hit the soundproofing, feel around and you soon know if there is wet.

The other thing is gently peel the rubber door seal away from the plastic interior trim at the bottom of the door. If there is a leak you may see water/ice depending on conditions.

Thanks DarrenW! :thumbup: