Toyo T1R's - Prepare to be unimpressed!

craig8585

This post is entirely my own opinion and personal review of the Toyo T1R. I'm not a professional tyre reviewer but understand the basics.

I've driven on Toyo T1R's previously on a relatively high power RWD car and was hugely unimpressed with them overall, even though they seemed to have a fair reputation at the time

I believe that tyres are an area of a car where you really shouldn't skimp and save. Afterall, they do enable you to accelerate, brake and turn, all of which being fairly important. It baffles me when people fit cheap tyres because they 'do a lot of miles'. In which case, surely you would want one of the best tyres available if you're using them a lot?!

Anyway, the review..

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recently, tyre retailers have began to rate theie tyres on fuel efficiency, noise, and most importantly, wet grip.

Unsurisingly, the Toyo T1R's are amongst the worst performers, and this includes the entire budget range. The ratings are as follows

Fuel Efficiency/Rolling Resistange - G

Wet Grip - E

Noise - 71dB

Fuel efficiency/Rolling resistance - With a score of G, The Toyo T1R receives the worst possible score. Not a lot else to be said really!

Wet Grip - On a scale of A to G, the Toyo T1R's rating of E is a fair way down there and leaves a lot to be desired. So far, I've not found a tyre with a lower rating, but I'm sure there will be some when full ratings have been revealed for all tyres.

Noise - 71dB - seems to be about average, if a tad high

blackcircles-tyre-labelling_zps53ff5a48.gifT1R_zps9be41a57.jpg

So, what would I do? I'd do what I've done. Get rid! For example, the Cheaper Falken or Uniroyal equivelant score B's for wet grip. Certainly a vast improvment for less money.

I hope you find this review useful and hope it doesn't upset too many T1R die-hards!