timing chain rattling

tarus007

hi everybody I am new to Briskoda:)Recently 5 months back i bought a 2011 Skoda Yeti 1.2 TSI DSG. I had  a first  oil change with 45000km on meter. Just after that oil change , on start ups engine make a rattling noise. sometimes it makes that sounds and sometimes not. I really dont know whats the problem is? After browsing some internet I came to know its timing chain problem. If its a timing chain problem, what i must do? 

thanks.

Hi taurus007.  Was a genuine oil filter used when the oil was changed ?  A genuine filter may have a valve to stop oil draining back when the engine is not running, which means oil pressure rises more quickly the next time the engine is started.  Also check that the correct grade of oil was used, not too thick.  I believe the tensioner for the chain and the valve tappets (lifters) both rely on oil pressure for their operation.

• Like 2

There was no RECALL but there was a TPI and then upgraded parts due to the Fundamental Design & Manufacturing of the originals.

http://briskoda.net/forums/topic/344005-12tsi-cam-chain-problem 

http://briskoda.net/forums/topic/252849-12-tsi-timing-chain-recall 

Lots more thread if you just do a search, not only with the Yeti but any section that had 1.2 TSI Euro 5 Emission 

engines fitted, and not just Skoda but VW's, AUDI's & SEATS, so no Technician with the VW Group or even SErvice Desk employees should not say, 'Never heard of any issues' unless they are TOMMY, ie Deaf, Dumb & Blind kids.

http://briskoda.net/forums/topic/307716-skoda-yeti-12-tsi-and-famous-chain-rattle 

Edited by Awayoffski

• 5 months later...

When I started having 1.2 tsi timing chain issues, some of the threads on this site were very useful but I couldn't find anything very up to date - ie in 2017  (although this thread seems pretty up to date!) - so here's an update based on my experience this last month or so.