Permanently Disable Stop/Start

Hello to all,

This is my first attempt at asking this Forum for guidance so if I am asking a question which has previously been discussed then please disregard.

I love my 65 plate Skoda Superb DSG but The auto stop start is not for me. I just think of the wear on the starter and battery, the extra work of the alternator to recoup the power used starting the engine and all for a cup full of fuel. Mine usually stops just as I'm pulling onto the only roundabout in our town and then a hurried rather jerky start ensues along with much blood and ficken. 

Can I disable it or perhaps get the car to recognise the last settings entered. I keep forgetting to press the button and after all, it's my car and I would prefer it to do what I ask and not what it thinks is best for me. I do understand the reasons for it in big cities but where I drive in the West Highlands it is a pretty useless feature. Any help offered would be much appreciated

It is particularly annoying with a DSG. With a manual, it only stops when you put it into neutral and take your foot off the clutch, so if you don't do that, it never cuts out. 

It can be disabled, but you either need VCDS or OBDeleven. 

If there is someone in your area with either, they may be able to help you out. 

• Thanks 1

Welcome. It can't be permanently disabled. You need to turn it off yourself each time you drive the car.

To be able to disable it permanently requires use of VCDS or similar. There are plenty of old threads on the subject as well as the pinned VCDS thread.

Stop-Start is disabled if the voltage falls below 7 volts. With VCDS you can increase this trigger to just over 12 volts - meaning Stop-Start never activates.

Check the VCDS owners map for someone close to you if you want this done.

• Thanks 1