Are mixed width tyres (225 front/ 205 back) wise?

sixman9

Gentlemen,

Although I'm 'reasonably' well paid, I don't want to fork out on a full set of tyres at the moment. However, my rears are now balder than the proverbial eagle (?), so I must now purchase replacements. The present set are 'standard' Octavia vRS size (205/17"), but I'm considering moving to 225/17 because they offer more grip and are easier to come by, I'm lead to believe.

Would it be at all wise/OK to say swap my current fronts to the rear (205/17's) and put some new 225/17 at the front end, until money stretches far enough to complete the 225 set (or the current set ALL wear out)? I'm no expert but I'm wondering about the cars dynamics etc, or is this a total No-No?

Thanks

Big Rich.

P.S. No flames, pretty please :rolleyes:

I was told by a tyre fitting company years ago that it was illegal to have wider tyres on the front of a vehicle then the rear as I was in a similar situation with swapping tyres etc. I don't know whether this is true but it might be worth ringing your local independant tyre stockist and ask there opinion. I also may have a set of vrs alloys with original tyres for sale soon (see post on RS4 alloys)

Stick the new tyres on the rear anyway as the fronts will wear quicker. When you then come to replace the fronts, the new larger rears that are already on will be barely worn

Quite sadly, I've made a spreadsheet to calculate at what point to swap the rear tyres to the front and vise versa such that all tyres need replacement at the same time. I did have a nasty experience with different tyres front and rear though.

Thanks for that gentlemen. So I'm taking it is IS OK to go with the new 225's at the rear. It's worrying that at least one of you had an issue with larger rears, but the wear and tear of the old 205's at the front makes a lot of sense :D

Now just to see if my neighbour can get me a nice discount at A-national T-yre S-hop :thumbup:

Thanks

Big Rich