Scored rear brake discs

Jwhitzy

Hi newbie here!

Took delivery of my wonderful kamiq last week! I am now 189 miles in and I have noticed my brake discs are scored on the rear. See photos, now I know the car is still new and maybe I should see how I go over the next 6000 miles as I know brake pads and discs are only covered from new for the first 6000 miles or 6 months which ever comes first. Has anyone come across this even so with how the new the car is?

IMG_20200202_145931.jpg

IMG_20200202_145919.jpg

• Sad 1

Hi, that's truly dreadful.

It will only get worse, in my opinion, so get it back to your dealer now and register your displeasure and concern.

Maybe email the photos to Skoda UK too, ask them if they think this is OK?

6 minutes ago, shyVRS245 said:

As per Wino get it booked in with the local Dealer and ask them to fit new discs under warranty or you will reject under the 30 day return policy.

Yeah, I'm going to give them a call tomorrow! 

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Scored brakes are fairly common on Skodas.

My Kodiaq is on its third set. Around 10,000 miles between new rear discs and pads under warranty.

No arguments from my dealer. The original pads were made of cheese. Third set looks fine.

Your marks at only 189 miles are surprising.  Have you caught some grit under the pads?

Have you given the brakes a good hammering to take any “shine” off them?

And I mean a REAL work out where you activate the ABS from high speed. 

• 3 weeks later...

That car appears to have spent some time out in the open, probably on the salty docks with prolonged periods of wind.

Was it a factory order, a car bought from stock, or one from off the forecourt?

• 1 year later...
On 07/03/2020 at 05:07, silver1011 said:

That car appears to have spent some time out in the open, probably on the salty docks with prolonged periods of wind.

Was it a factory order, a car bought from stock, or one from off the forecourt?